The Jack’s Family Restaurants breach reached the bank account numbers employees used for direct deposit of their wages. That is not the usual data breach exposure list, and it changes what a documented claim can be worth here: the settlement pays up to $4,000 in documented losses plus $20 an hour for time spent cleaning it up, or a flat $55 instead. Three years of credit monitoring comes on top of either route. Claims close November 30, 2026.
Status: Claims open | Claim deadline November 30, 2026 | Opt out or object by November 13, 2026 | $55 flat, or up to $4,080 documented
What Happened
The incident was a targeted cyberattack on Jack’s computer systems that the notice places at approximately July 24 through August 10, 2025. Files accessed during that window may have contained names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, addresses, phone numbers, and bank account information used for direct deposit of wages. The specific categories varied by individual, so not every class member’s file held every type.
That last category is what marks this out as an employee-side breach rather than a customer one. A file holding a Social Security number and the routing and account numbers where someone’s paycheck lands is a complete set for payroll-diversion fraud, and it is the reason the lost-time reimbursement in this settlement is worth reading rather than skipping.
The underlying case is a consolidated data breach class action captioned In re Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-01861-LCB, in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Alabama. Jack’s denies that it did anything wrong, and the court has not decided who is right. The parties say they agreed to settle to avoid the costs, risks, disruptions and uncertainties of continuing the litigation. No finding of liability has been made.
Who Is In the Class
The court defined the settlement class as all persons residing in the United States whose private information was compromised by the data incident, including all persons who were sent notice of the data incident.
Three groups are excluded: directors, officers and employees of Jack’s; the judge assigned to the case, that judge’s immediate family and court staff; and any class member who properly opts out. Anyone unsure whether they are in the class can check through the contact options on the official settlement website.
Note that class members who already received a notice directly from Jack’s about the incident may now receive a second notice, this one from the settlement administrator, carrying the credentials needed to file. The two are different mailings and only the second one opens the claim form.
Four Benefits, and the Cash Routes Do Not All Stack
This is the part that costs people money if they skim it. There is one monitoring benefit and three cash routes, and the arithmetic depends on which combination you pick.
| Credit monitoring — three years | Available to every settlement class member, alongside a cash payment rather than instead of one. The notice describes it as potentially including real-time monitoring of a credit file at a credit bureau, dark web scanning with notification of potential misuse, public record monitoring, identity restoration and recovery services, and $1,000,000 in identity theft insurance with no deductible. |
| Cash Payment A — documented losses, up to $4,000 | Unreimbursed charges from banks or credit card companies; unreimbursed costs to replace a driver’s license, Social Security number or other identification; unreimbursed costs for credit reports; and unreimbursed costs for credit monitoring or identity theft protection first purchased between July 24, 2025 and the claims deadline. |
| Cash Payment B — lost time, up to $80 | $20.00 per hour for up to four hours spent responding to the incident. Can be claimed on its own or on top of Cash Payment A. |
| Cash Payment C — flat $55 | An alternative cash payment available in lieu of both A and B. |
So the combined documented ceiling is $4,080 (A plus B), and the $55 is an either/or against that pair. Credit monitoring sits outside the choice entirely — claiming it does not reduce any cash payment.
The decision is straightforward once the tiers are laid out: for a class member with no receipts and no meaningful time to describe, the $55 is the practical route. For anyone who bought a credit monitoring subscription after the notice arrived, replaced identification, or spent an afternoon on the phone with a bank about a direct-deposit problem, the documented path plus lost time is worth more — but it requires third-party records.
One extra condition applies to credit monitoring bought after the incident: the claim needs proof of purchase plus a written statement that the service was bought primarily because of this incident.
No Published Fund, and No Pro Rata Clause
The notice does not publish a total settlement fund figure, and it describes no pro rata reduction of the cash tiers. That is worth noting, because on a common-fund settlement an advertised flat payment is usually an estimate that shrinks once the claim count is known. Nothing in this notice describes that mechanism.
Class counsel will ask the court to approve attorneys’ fees of up to $351,000 plus reasonable costs, which the notice says Jack’s will pay, and service awards of $2,500 for each class representative, which the notice says would come from the settlement fund. All of those are requests — the court decides them at the final approval hearing and can award less.
Filing Online Requires a LoginID and PIN
The settlement website states that to start the online claim form a class member must log in with a LoginID and PIN, both printed on the notice sent to them. That makes this a proof-required settlement even for the $55 alternative cash payment, which itself asks for no receipts: someone who never received a notice cannot log in.
There are two ways around it. A class member who cannot locate those credentials can request them from the settlement administrator through the contact options on the official settlement website, and a printable claim form can be downloaded from the same site and mailed instead of filing online.
Documentation is separate from that login gate. Cash Payment A requires third-party documentation such as receipts to verify the costs claimed, and the notice is explicit that self-prepared documents may be submitted to clarify or support other documentation but are not sufficient on their own. The $55 alternative cash payment and the lost-time reimbursement do not call for receipts, though the claim form is signed under penalty of perjury.
The Dates
| November 13, 2026 | Deadline to exclude yourself from the settlement or to object to it. An opt-out request must be postmarked by this date. |
| November 30, 2026 | Claim deadline. An online claim must be submitted by this date; a mailed claim form with any supporting documentation must be postmarked by it. The notice does not specify a timezone. |
| December 15, 2026, 9:00 a.m. ET | Final approval hearing, at the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Alabama in Huntsville, or by videoconference if the court so orders. |
Opting out preserves the right to sue Jack’s separately but forfeits every settlement benefit. Objecting keeps a class member in the settlement and bound by its terms, and an objector may still file a claim. A class member who opts out cannot object, because the settlement no longer affects them.
What Happens Next
At the December 15, 2026 hearing the court will decide whether to approve the settlement, how much class counsel is paid, whether to award service awards, and will consider any objections. Class members are not required to attend. The notice warns that the hearing date and time may change without further notice.
If the court grants final approval, benefits are distributed after that order and after any appeals are resolved. The notice says it is not known whether appeals will be filed or how long they would take. No payment date has been announced.
How to File
Claims are filed through the official Jack’s Data Breach Settlement website, which hosts the claim portal, the long-form notice, the claim form and the settlement agreement. Have the notice at hand for the LoginID and PIN, decide between the documented route and the $55 alternative cash payment before starting, and decide separately whether to elect the credit monitoring — it is claimed on the same form. A printable claim form is available on the same site for anyone who prefers to file by mail.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I take the $55 alternative cash payment and also claim lost time?
No. The notice describes the $55 alternative cash payment as available in lieu of both Cash Payment A for documented losses and Cash Payment B for lost time, so the three cash routes do not all stack. Documented losses and lost time can be combined with each other: a class member may submit a documented-loss claim and also claim up to four hours at $20 an hour, for a combined ceiling of $4,080.
Does claiming credit monitoring reduce the cash payment?
No. The notice presents the three years of identity theft protection and credit monitoring as a benefit every settlement class member is eligible for alongside a cash payment, rather than as an alternative to one. A class member may claim credit monitoring and either the documented-loss and lost-time route or the $55 alternative cash payment.
What if I never received a notice with a LoginID and PIN?
The online claim form cannot be started without the LoginID and PIN printed on the notice. The settlement website explains that class members who cannot locate their credentials can request them from the settlement administrator using the contact options on the official settlement website, and that a printable claim form can be downloaded and mailed instead.
Does the settlement cover bank account information used for direct deposit?
Yes. The notice lists bank account information used for direct deposit of wages among the categories of private information that may have been in the files accessed during the incident, alongside names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, addresses and phone numbers. The categories varied by individual, so not every class member’s file contained every type.
How large is the settlement fund?
The notice does not state a total settlement fund figure. It says Jack’s will cause the settlement benefits to be paid, that class counsel will ask the court to approve attorneys’ fees of up to $351,000 plus reasonable costs to be paid by Jack’s, and that service awards of $2,500 for each class representative would be paid from the settlement fund. Because no aggregate figure is published, the notice also describes no pro rata reduction of the cash tiers.
When were the Jack’s systems accessed?
The notice places the targeted cyberattack at approximately July 24 through August 10, 2025. Credit monitoring or identity theft protection first purchased between July 24, 2025 and the claims deadline is one of the categories reimbursable under the documented-loss tier, with proof of purchase and a written statement that it was bought primarily because of this incident.
Sources
- Official Jack’s Data Breach Settlement website — home page, FAQs, important dates and claim form login.
- Notice of Proposed Class Action Settlement, In re Jack’s Family Restaurants, LP Data Breach Litigation, No. 2:25-cv-01861-LCB, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Alabama.
- Settlement Agreement and Claim Form, linked from the Important Documents page of the official settlement website.
- Federal Trade Commission — identity theft and online security.
- OpenClassActions.com — Jack’s Family Restaurants Data Breach Settlement.
Source and credit: the settlement terms, deadlines and benefit tiers described above are drawn from our sister site’s reporting — OpenClassActions.com: Jack’s Family Restaurants Data Breach Settlement — which tracks this case against the court-approved notice and the official settlement website and is updated as the court rules.
Legal Disclaimer
This article is for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. OpenClassActions.org is a consumer news site, not a law firm and not the settlement administrator, and is not affiliated with any party to the case described. The allegations are allegations; the defendants deny wrongdoing and no court has decided the merits. Deadlines, benefit amounts and payment timing can change as the court and the administrator act, so confirm current status on the official settlement website. You never need to pay anyone to file a claim or to receive a settlement payment.